Canadian Land Trusts Working Group (CLTWG)

The Canadian Land Trusts Working Group (CLTWG) is an adhoc working group with representation from regional and community land trusts from the provinces of British Columbia, Alberta, Ontario, Québec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island, and three provincial associations (Réseau de milieux naturels protégés, the Ontario Land Trust Alliance and Land Trust Alliance of British Columbia) formed to provide a unified the voice for the sector in current discussions with the Federal Government around conservation programs and funding.

CLTWG works with NCC and DUC to collaborate on the Natural Heritage Conservation Program Funding which has committed $100 million towards conservation projects in Canada. CLTWG partners with WHC Wildlife Habitat Canada for the delivery of the program. WHC will oversee the administration of $20 million to the land trust community between 2019 and 2023. Information on the Land Trust Conservation Program can be found at

Members of the CLTWG are:

Atlantic: Megan Harris, Bonnie Sutherland

Quebec: Veronique Vermette

Ontario: Bill Lougheed, Susan Walmer, Alison Howson

Alberta: Justin Thompson

British Columbia: Jasper Lament, Paul McNair